Trump's Travel Ban


January 30, 2017 | BY Isabel Martel Francisco

An executive order barring entry to the United States of America.




What is happening?

President Trump issued an executive order banning the entry of citizens from 7 specific countries, into the United States for 90 days or three months. It also bans refugees from entering the country for 120 days or 4 months. Trump has mentioned that he will prioritize Christian refugees. The executive order will stay in place until the US government is able to decide how they are going to revise their immigration policy.

Why is it happening?

The United States government wishes to prevent terror attacks though intense screening processes before allowing entrance into the country. 

Ironically, the terrorists from September 11 were mostly from Saudi Arabia, while others came from Egypt, Lebanon and the UAE—and yet not one of those countries are part of the 7 listed in the travel ban. 

Where is it happening?

In airports around the United States, people who landed in the country as the order was issued are currently being detained.

In major airports like that of New York, Chicago, Seattle and L.A amongst many others, people have been protesting against the detention and deportation of these foreign nationals and to call an end to this executive order. Outraged, the people refuse to leave the airports until the travellers are released.

Who is it affecting?

Citizens from these 7 countries: Iran, Iraq, Sudan, Somalia, Libya, Syria and Yemen.


"Full Executive Order Text: Trump’s Action Limiting Refugees Into the U.S." New York Times. New York Times Company, 27 Jan. 2017. Web. 30 Jan. 2017.